It’s been a long time…

Hi guys! Long time no see, I guess. Hope you’ve all been doing well.

I had my University exams, so I’m sorry for not being in touch.

I learnt a few things during my social exile. The biggest thing I learnt was managing not only Time, but also Myself. I learnt it from a short episode that happened.

During my exams, I had three days of continuous tough exams. I’d spent my prior days preparing for the first two exams, and as a result I wasn’t as properly prepared for the third exam as I should’ve been. I had a lot of syllabus to revise for the third one, a subject that I wasn’t very fond of. The moment I saw the syllabus, I did something which I shouldn’t have done at all.

I got scared.

I lost belief in myself. I thought I couldn’t do it. Thinking this, I couldn’t focus fully on doing it. I talked to mum and she gave me my belief back. It wasn’t too late. I studied, deep into the night, and up with the sun. I studied all night, trying to cram as much in my cranium as possible. I actually thought of getting about some shut-eye, but I didn’t, for fear of not waking up. So, I stayed up, against my mum’s advice, just trying to cram every formula, and learn as much as I could.

That was my second mistake. I should’ve listened to her. Three days of sleep deprivation coupled with my fear, came like a sledgehammer to my head. My fear multiplied, writing the paper, caught like a deer in the headlights. I finally thought about what I told others in similar situations and I controlled myself to write. It wasn’t the best paper I’d written.

But this experience taught me a very important thing-

Managing time isn’t the most important thing;

The most important thing is mananging Yourself.

You can’t manage anything, if you can’t manage Yourself.

But the most important thing I learnt was-

Always listen to your Mum.

Or an equivalent wise person,

Because even though their advice may not be the best option that you think; it will actually be the best possible option.

Throughout this episode, Mum told me,

Your Fear is just a feeling,

Conquer it.

And now, I have. After that debacle, I have finaly learnt these things and more. I have learnt to practice what I preach in a situation which I’d never been in before. I have finally learnt that-

A mountain is only as tall as you want it to be. 

And now I’m enlightened.

(I agree not to the Buddha level, but the feeling isn’t that different :p)

Finally, it’s so great to be back and I look forward to seeing you all again.

Have a great week ahead and enjoy your holidays!

Happy Living!

Abhay

2 thoughts on “It’s been a long time…

  1. Abhay, Welcome back, again beautifully expressed… Keep up the good work…
    Abhay it is never to late & a wise person will always learn from their mistakes and understand that there are no retakes or repeats in life…..
    I am so glad you are very wise…. God bless you.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

